Publications + Calls


Provocations on Media Architecture: a publication featuring responses to a provocation about Media Architecture by artists, designers, and thinkers such as
Melissa Mongiat, Eliza Chandler and Lisa East, Ekene Ijeoma, Anthea Foyer, John Cayley, Scott Rodgers, and Susan Blight.


Media Architecture Compendium Volume 2: Drawing on cutting-edge research and global studies, this transdisciplinary collaboration offers an in-depth account of Media Architecture’s evolution and its real-world applications.

Papers and Pictorials: the proceedings of mab23 are available on the ACM Digital Library.


Call for Papers


Call for Workshops


Call for Awards


Call for Student Awards


Call for Volunteers



All Papers and Explorations & Prototypes submitted by the due date will undergo a double-anonymous peer-review process.

They will be evaluated on the basis of their significance, innovation, academic rigour, and clarity of writing.

Reviewers had to declare a conflict of interest if the papers they were reviewing involved them:

  • Having received fees for consulting. Having received research funding.
  • Having been employed by a related company.
  • Holding stocks or shares in a company which might be affected by the publication of your paper.
  • Having received funds reimbursing you for attending a related symposia, or talk.

All papers will be checked for plagiarism using the iThenticate tool

Program Co-Chairs:
Martin Tomitsch | University of Sydney
Glenda Caldwell | Queensland University of Technology

Paper Chairs: 

Glenda Caldwell | Queensland University of Technology

Joel Fredericks | The University of Sydney

Elise Hodson | Royal College of Art


Explorations and Prototypes Chairs:

Victor Perez-Amado | Toronto Metropolitan University

Andrew Vande Moere | KU Leuven

Martin Tomitsch | University of Sydney

Alexander Wiethoff | LMU Munich



Calvin Hillis, Toronto Metropolitan University

May Chew, Concordia University

James Bird, University of Toronto

Stephanie DeBoer, Indiana University

Kristy H.A. Kang, NTU Singapore

Andrew Lochhead, Toronto Metropolitan University

Elise Hodson, Royal College of Art

Teija Vainio, Aalto University

Ana Rita Morais, George Brown College

Andrew Vande Moere, KU Leuven

Martijn de Waal, Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences

Marcus Foth, Queensland University of Technology

Karolina Zielinska-Dabkowska, University of Technology

Kim Halskov, Aarhus University

Glenda Caldwell, Queensland University of Technology

Martin Tomitsch, University of Sydney

Alexander Wiethoff, LMU Munchen

Victor Perez-Amado, Toronto Metropolitan